love you corny, not horny.

In the spirit of Valentine’s day (even though I AM the Valentine’s day grinch), I’ll share with you the reason why I intellectually fell in love with a man by the name of Kwapi, a.k.a. Kwapcake, if you’re willing to having his kids.


I was never built for that machismo type of Love; the type of Love that’s too cool to hold your hand at the mall because it might mess up my thug-wanna-be swagger.

I’m not the type to hide my emotions or be a slave to that emotionally stingy type of love;  the type of Love that’s too conceited to say “I love you” & too selfish to show I care.

You see, I was raised on that type of Love that makes me want to tell the world how much you mean to me, the type of love that makes me say to my friends “Even though my baby is looker, its her mind and soul that make her a 10”.

Because I’m not held hostage by that horny type of love, the type of love that licks its lips at the flick of your hips and at the sight of your voluptuous cleavage as it glistens under disco balls and club lights.

And yeah, I can be jealous. But my type of jealous is that cute, healthy type of jealous; the type of jealous that is simply afraid of loosing your and not the crazy type of jealous that’s going to ask her to explain the extent of relationships and interactions with every man in your phonebook and on your Facebook page

You see, I’m a sucker for that corny type of love, the type of Love that makes your heart skip when their name pops up on your caller ID and you run out of the room to pick up because your friends are making too much noise.

As a matter of fact, I crave it, that type of love that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside at the club when the DJ starts to play that certain song that reminds you of them because that’s what you set as their ringtone.

I love corny, because its that type of love that makes me want to cuddle up to a chick flick not because I like chick flicks but because she likes chick flicks.  Its that type of love that makes my guy friends say “awww, their so cute it makes me want to throw up”and the type love that makes Her girlfriends say “awww, I wish I had a man like that” because they know what the two of us have is something special.

And some times you just want to sing these lyrics with your inner voice, “Loving you is like a song I replay every three minutes and thirty seconds of every day. And every chorus, was written for us to recite, every beautiful melody of devotion every night …” because its the type of love that makes you hum along to those romantic classics and warm sentimental melodies our parents fell in love with. I want to love you corny not horny, the type of love that makes what you and me have the best thing to ever happen to romance since that moment Romeo kissed Juliet.

 

Sincerely yours,

Kwapi

 

Revised 2010 – Copyright 2009
Twitter | @kwapiv
http://www.twitter.com/kwapiv
Find even more of his beautiful mind on http://www.facebook.com/kwapivengesayi
Leave a Reply

